🌍 ACOPLEX Electric Bike Since 2016 ⭐ 10+ Year Industry Experience ✓ Verified Elite Supplier
✓ Verified Elite Supplier
Menu

EN 15194 Electric Bike Specs: A Buyer's Verification Checklist

Author: ACOPLEX Electric Bike Release time: 2026-09-24 09:47:40 View number: 59

ACOPLEX 27.5-inch electric city bike with 6061 aluminum alloy frame

A 27.5-inch ACOPLEX electric city bike — one of three EN 15194 certified models examined in this buyer verification guide.

An electric bike order that fails usually fails twice. First on compliance: without EN 15194 certification, an electric assisted bicycle cannot legally be placed on the EU market. Then on specification: a bike that is certified, but whose motor, battery or speed setting differs from the signed spec sheet, creates a slower and more expensive problem at the retail counter.

This guide is written for importers, distributors and brand owners in the research and evaluation stage of an electric bike purchase. It sets out which lines on a specification sheet are fixed by regulation, which are fixed by hardware, how to verify each one, and where documentation commonly disagrees with marketing copy. The worked example is the ACOPLEX Electric Bike line — the UNICORN and TRAVEL electric city bikes and the ROCKET electric mountain bike — supplied by Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd, a Wuxi-based electric bike supplier founded in 2016 with an export ratio of 100% and the EU and USA as its main markets.

Problem Definition: Where Electric Bike Orders Actually Break

Constraint failures in electric bike sourcing are rarely dramatic. They are line items that were never verified against a document — usually one of the following six.

  • Company-level certification claims. The supplier holds CE and EN 15194 certificates, but the certificate copy does not name the model you are ordering.
  • Speed programming left at default. The same hardware is legally sold at 25 km/h in the EU and 32 km/h in the USA and Canada, so the factory setting has to be specified per destination.
  • Torque quoted without a drive type. “250W” says nothing about climbing ability; torque in N.m and drive position (mid-drive versus hub) do.
  • Conflicting battery capacity. The same model can carry two different Ah figures in two different documents.
  • Missing weight and load lines. Net weight and maximum load determine handling, freight calculation and warranty exposure.
  • Generic component lines. “Suspension fork” and “disc brake” are not specifications; brand, type and material are.

Every one of these is checkable before a deposit is paid. The remainder of this article converts them into a sequence a buyer can run in order.

Industry Background: What EN 15194 Fixes and What It Leaves Open

EN 15194 is the mandatory standard for electric assisted bicycles sold in the EU market. For an importer it is the first document a retail buyer or customs broker will request, and CE certification to EN 15194 is the form that request usually takes. A supplier’s whole electric bicycle range can hold it: Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd states that all of its electric bicycles strictly comply with European safety standards and have obtained CE and EN 15194 certificates.

What the standard does not fix matters just as much at procurement stage. EN 15194 does not determine battery capacity, motor torque, frame material, wheel size, drivetrain level or the commercial price band of a finished bike. Those stay buyer-side variables, and they consume most of the comparison work during evaluation.

Assist speed is the variable that sits on both sides of the line. The UNICORN electric city bike is factory programmed with two speed limits: 25 km/h for the EU market and 32 km/h for the USA and Canada. That is a specification line to be confirmed on the order, not a setting to be adjusted on arrival. Buyers serving Europe and North America — application and supply records for this range cover markets across Europe, North America, Latin America and Asia-Pacific — should treat regional speed programming as a per-order item rather than a catalogue constant.

The Verified Specification Set: UNICORN, ROCKET and TRAVEL

The three models below are the EN 15194 certified ACOPLEX Electric Bike platforms. Each figure is taken from the model’s published parameter listing, and where a selling-point description adds or contradicts a figure, that is stated explicitly.

Drive system and torque

Mid-drive is the differentiator to check first. All three models run a 48V 250W Oxygen motor, but drive position and torque output differ by platform, and torque is what decides whether a loaded bike holds speed on a gradient.

  • ROCKET electric mountain bike: Oxygen mid-drive motor rated 48V 250W with a maximum motor torque of 95 N.m — the highest of the three, and the relevant figure for steep, loose or loaded off-road riding.
  • TRAVEL electric city bike: a 3.0 kg mid-drive motor rated 48V 250W, producing 60 N.m of smooth torque described as natural pedal-assist for city commuting.
  • UNICORN electric city bike: a 48V 250W Oxygen comfort motor. The parameter listing does not state a torque figure for this model.
ACOPLEX ROCKET electric mountain bike with 29x4.0 CST fat tyres and 95 N.m mid-drive motor

The ROCKET electric mountain bike: 48V 250W Oxygen mid-drive motor, 95 N.m maximum torque, 29×4.0 CST tyres.

Terminology is worth fixing before you compare quotations. “Mid-drive electric bike”, “electric bike with central motor” and “mid-mounted motor” describe the same drive layout. When a quotation uses one term and the certificate another, confirm they refer to the same configuration before signing.

Battery, range and charging

Battery capacity is the single most common source of documentation conflict in this category, and the ROCKET is a live example. Its parameter listing specifies a 48V 7Ah Samsung lithium-ion battery; its selling-point description specifies a 48V 14.7Ah Samsung lithium-ion battery. Chemistry and voltage agree; capacity does not.

Verification rule: where a parameter listing and a selling-point description disagree, the capacity to be delivered must be written into the order confirmation or proforma invoice by the buyer — it cannot be inferred from the marketing description.

Range and charging figures follow the same discipline and should be confirmed per configuration:

  • ROCKET: stated range of 80–100 km, with a full charge in 4–6 hours using the smart charger.
  • TRAVEL: 40–50 km practical range for daily short trips, with 3–4 hour charging.
  • UNICORN: Samsung 48V 7Ah lithium-ion battery and an AC 100V–240V 4.5A smart charger that completes a full charge in 4–6 hours with multiple safety protection mechanisms. The parameter listing does not state a range figure for this model.

The UNICORN charger is a wide-voltage unit, which matters for importers reselling into markets with different household voltages: it is built for 100V to 240V supply.

Frame, wheel size and load

All three models use a 6061 aluminum alloy frame — the specification to confirm on the certificate and the invoice, rather than the generic term “aluminum alloy frame bike”. Wheel size then decides ride character and target rider.

  • TRAVEL: 20-inch wheels with 20×2.0 CST tyres and a 23.5 kg net weight. The compact 20-inch geometry lowers stand-over height, which suits shorter and lighter riders who need easy mounting in stop-and-go traffic.
  • UNICORN: 27.5×2.6 CST tyres on aluminum alloy double-wall rims, a 32 kg net weight and a maximum load of 125 kg.
  • ROCKET: 29×4.0 CST fat tyres, selected for grip on sand, snow and rough trails.
ACOPLEX TRAVEL 20-inch compact electric city bike with 6061 aluminum alloy frame

The TRAVEL compact electric city bike: 20×2.0 CST tyres, 23.5 kg net weight, 60 N.m mid-drive torque.

Two of these lines carry commercial consequences at evaluation stage. The 125 kg maximum load on the UNICORN and the 23.5 kg net weight on the TRAVEL both need to be stated accurately if you advertise load ratings or bike weight to consumers.

Drivetrain, braking and suspension

Drivetrain level is where a city bike and a mountain bike begin to separate commercially, even when the motor rating is identical.

  • UNICORN: SHIMANO 9-speed gearing, front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, Suntour brand suspension fork in aluminum alloy, aluminum alloy handlebar and stem, and an SS01 speed sensor that reads riding speed for consistent and responsive assist output.
  • ROCKET: SHIMANO 11-speed gearing with a KMC chain, front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, and a Suntour suspension fork; the LCD display includes a USB port for charging mobile devices on the move.
  • TRAVEL: SHIMANO 8-speed gearing with a KMC chain and a 52T aluminum crankset, front and rear hydraulic disc brakes, and a ZOOM brand suspension fork in aluminum alloy.

For any mid-drive electric bike, drivetrain specification is not cosmetic: the gears carry motor torque through the chain, so chain, crankset and gear count should be read together with the torque figure rather than as separate features.

Certification record

Certification has to attach to a model, not to a supplier in general. For this range, the EN 15194 certification for the UNICORN electric city bike, the TRAVEL electric city bike and the ROCKET electric mountain bike is issued by TUV, the certification type is CE, and the applicable market is the EU. The AME-1202 children’s balance bike from the same catalogue also carries CE certification under the EN 15194 standard.

Before the order, request the certificate copy that names your model and check three fields on it: the standard (EN 15194), the issuing body (TUV), and the model designation.

Step-by-Step: How to Verify an Electric Bike Order Before You Commit

The sequence below takes an order from quotation to a confirmed specification. It assumes an importer or distributor selling into the EU or North America and comparing more than one supplier.

  1. Fix the destination and the legal envelope first. Decide whether the bikes are sold in the EU (25 km/h assist limit) or in the USA and Canada (32 km/h). That single decision sets the factory speed programming and determines which certification documents you need.
  2. Request model-specific certification, not a company statement. The document should show EN 15194 as the standard, TUV as the issuer, and the exact model — UNICORN, TRAVEL or ROCKET.
  3. Rebuild the specification sheet line by line. Motor rating, drive type and torque; battery chemistry, voltage and Ah; stated range and charge time; frame material; wheel and tyre size; gearing; brakes; fork; display; net weight; maximum load.
  4. Reconcile every conflict in writing. Where two documents disagree — the ROCKET’s 7Ah parameter line against its 14.7Ah selling-point line is the clearest example in the current catalogue — the buyer writes the delivered figure into the order confirmation or proforma invoice.
  5. Match the configuration to the sales channel. Compact 20-inch geometry for urban commuter retail, 29×4.0 fat tyres with 95 N.m torque for off-road ranges and steep climbs, 125 kg load capacity where the bike carries cargo or heavier riders.
  6. Confirm commercial constraints. For ACOPLEX electric bikes supplied by Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd, minimum order quantity is 50 pcs, monthly capacity is 10,000 units, and customization covers frame and fender colour, wheel size, battery capacity and other options. Because those items are variables, terms are built per configuration rather than as a single catalogue price.
  7. Validate with a sample, then lock the after-sales terms. Sample arrangement sits inside the supplier’s one-stop service scope, alongside product selection, quotation, production tracking, quality control and after-sales technical support. Pre-shipment quality control covers inspection of 100% of components plus whole e-bike test riding.

Lead time for this process is 45–60 days, which is the number to plan container scheduling and retail launch dates around.

Use Cases: Matching Constrained Specs to Real Riding Scenarios

Each model maps onto a different procurement scenario, and a different spec line decides it.

  • Urban commuting retail. The UNICORN and TRAVEL electric city bikes cover pavement and light gravel. The deciding lines are net weight (23.5 kg on the 20-inch TRAVEL) and load rating (125 kg on the 27.5-inch UNICORN), not motor wattage.
  • Mountain, trail and steep-climb ranges. The ROCKET electric mountain bike is the relevant platform for high-torque and steep-climb demand: 95 N.m mid-drive torque, 29×4.0 CST fat tyres, SHIMANO 11-speed gearing and hydraulic disc brakes.
  • Long-range city and hilly routes. Stated range is 40–50 km on the TRAVEL and 80–100 km on the ROCKET; for long-range electric bike listings, confirm the delivered battery capacity in writing before you publish a range claim.
  • Light cargo, last-mile delivery and rental fleets. Documented application scope for these models covers logistics and last-mile delivery, campus and resort rental, and personal commuting, with matched equipment including chargers, spare batteries, racks and boxes for cargo models, lights and anti-theft accessories. Commercial and rental use requires enhanced durability and defined after-sales provisions — the point at which the 60 N.m versus 95 N.m torque difference and the 8-speed versus 11-speed drivetrain become procurement criteria rather than features.
ACOPLEX 20-inch compact electric bike for urban commuting and short-range city trips

Compact 20-inch geometry for urban commuting and short-range city use, where low stand-over height and low net weight matter more than torque.

Recorded working conditions for this range are urban pavement, gravel and light off-road trails, including hilly and steep climbs, with pedal-assist, pure electric or hybrid operation. Retailers, distributors and brand owners form the customer base, with supply relationships running 5–6 years and order volumes recorded at 100,000 pcs.

Model Comparison: UNICORN vs ROCKET vs TRAVEL

Specification UNICORN ROCKET TRAVEL
Category Electric city bike Electric mountain bike Electric city bike (compact, 20-inch)
Frame material 6061 aluminum alloy 6061 aluminum alloy 6061 aluminum alloy
Motor 48V 250W Oxygen comfort 48V 250W Oxygen mid-drive 48V 250W Oxygen mid-drive, 3.0 kg
Maximum torque Not stated in parameter listing 95 N.m 60 N.m
Battery 48V 7Ah Samsung lithium-ion 48V 7Ah (parameter listing) / 48V 14.7Ah (selling point), Samsung lithium-ion 48V 7Ah Samsung lithium-ion
Stated range Not stated 80–100 km 40–50 km
Charge time 4–6 h (AC 100V–240V 4.5A smart charger) 4–6 h 3–4 h
Tyres 27.5×2.6 CST 29×4.0 CST 20×2.0 CST
Gearing SHIMANO 9-speed SHIMANO 11-speed + KMC chain SHIMANO 8-speed + KMC chain, 52T crankset
Brakes Front & rear hydraulic disc Front & rear hydraulic disc Front & rear hydraulic disc
Front fork Suntour, suspension, aluminum alloy Suntour, suspension, aluminum alloy ZOOM, suspension, aluminum alloy
Net weight 32 kg Not stated 23.5 kg
Maximum load 125 kg Not stated Not stated
Region speed programming 25 km/h EU; 32 km/h USA & Canada Not stated Not stated
EN 15194 / CE (TUV, EU market) Yes Yes Yes

Read the table as a constraint map rather than a ranking: the ROCKET wins on torque and off-road capability, the TRAVEL on weight and compact fit, the UNICORN on load rating and charger flexibility. The one line requiring written confirmation before production is the ROCKET battery, where the two published figures differ.

FAQ: EN 15194 Electric Bike Compliance and Specification Questions

Which ACOPLEX electric bike models hold EN 15194 certification, and who issued it?

Three models are certified: the UNICORN electric city bike, the TRAVEL electric city bike and the ROCKET electric mountain bike. For each of them the certification type is CE and the EN 15194 certification is issued by TUV, applicable to the EU market. Because EN 15194 is the mandatory standard for electric assisted bicycles sold in the EU, the certificate copy you check should name the exact model you are buying, not only the supplier.

How do I verify motor torque and battery capacity on a mid-drive electric bike specification sheet?

Read torque and battery as two separate lines. Torque identifies climbing capability: the ROCKET’s Oxygen mid-drive motor is rated 48V 250W with a maximum torque of 95 N.m, and the TRAVEL’s 3.0 kg mid-drive motor is rated 48V 250W with 60 N.m. Battery capacity needs closer reading, because one model file can state two figures: for the ROCKET, the parameter listing specifies a 48V 7Ah Samsung lithium-ion battery while the selling point specifies 48V 14.7Ah, so the delivered capacity has to be fixed in the order confirmation. The TRAVEL and UNICORN both list a 48V 7Ah Samsung lithium-ion battery.

What commercial constraints should I plan around — MOQ, customization and capacity?

For ACOPLEX electric bikes supplied by Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd, the minimum order quantity is 50 pcs and monthly capacity is 10,000 units. Customization covers frame and fender colour, wheel size, battery capacity and additional options, with OEM and ODM support covering logo printing, customized packaging, colour matching and specification adjustment. Because configuration changes with those choices, a compact 20-inch commuter, a 29×4.0 fat-tyre mountain bike and a long-range battery configuration are built and quoted as separate configurations rather than as one catalogue price.

Can I validate a sample before committing to a volume order?

Yes — sample arrangement is part of the supplier’s one-stop service scope, which runs from product selection and quotation through sample arrangement, production tracking and quality control to after-sales technical support. Use the sample to confirm the lines your market constrains: region speed programming (25 km/h for the EU, 32 km/h for the USA and Canada), the delivered battery capacity, frame and tyre specification, and the net weight your freight calculation assumes. Pre-shipment quality control covers inspection of 100% of components plus whole e-bike test riding.

What lead time should importers plan for?

Lead time for these electric bikes is 45–60 days against a monthly capacity of 10,000 units, so plan that window before committing retail launch dates and run the documentation check in parallel with production — model-specific EN 15194 certificate, order confirmation with the resolved battery capacity, and regional speed programming. To request a configured quotation or arrange a sample, contact the ACOPLEX Electric Bike team through purinocycle.com or by email at nancy@puruinuo.com.

Conclusion: Verify Three Things and the Rest Follows

For an electric bike purchase constrained by EN 15194 and by hard hardware parameters, three verifications remove most of the risk. First, a model-specific EN 15194 certificate, CE type, issued by TUV for the EU market, naming the model you buy. Second, a specification sheet reconciled line by line, with every disagreement — the ROCKET’s 7Ah and 14.7Ah battery lines being the clearest current example — fixed in writing. Third, a configuration matched to terrain and rider: 95 N.m mid-drive torque with 29×4.0 fat tyres for steep and off-road use, 20-inch compact geometry at 23.5 kg for urban commuting, 125 kg load capacity where the bike has to carry more.

MOQ, lead time, customization and sample validation are commercial detail that becomes predictable once those three are settled — a 50 pcs minimum order quantity, 10,000 units of monthly capacity, a 45–60 day lead time, and 100% component inspection plus whole e-bike test riding before shipment.

Next step: if you are evaluating EN 15194 certified electric bikes for the EU or 32 km/h-configured models for the USA and Canada, request a sample or a configured quotation from the ACOPLEX Electric Bike team at Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd.

Contact: Nancy Chen · purinocycle.com · nancy@puruinuo.com · Tel +86 0510-88998686 · WhatsApp +86 153-1223-9200 · 5 Floor, Building C, No. 238, Xitai Road, Meicun, Xinwu District, Wuxi, Jiangsu, China

Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd, supplier of ACOPLEX electric bikes

Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd — supplier of the EN 15194 certified ACOPLEX Electric Bike range for EU and USA markets.

Have Questions or Need More Details?

Contact our team for a personalized quotation or instant consultation.

Request a Quotation

Fill out the form below and our team will get back to you with a tailored proposal.

Attach images, files, or documents.

We'll respond within 24 hours (Mon–Sat).

WhatsApp Direct Chat

Prefer to chat in real-time? Message us on WhatsApp for instant assistance & quick answers.

  • Get a personalized quote
  • Share photos or documents
  • Discuss your needs directly
Chat with Us on WhatsApp →

Typically replies in 5–30 minutes during business hours.

Support: Images, videos, PDF