ESS Technical Guide: IP Ratings, C5 Corrosion, and Cycle Life for Outdoor C&I Sites
ESS Technical Guide: IP Ratings, C5 Corrosion, and Cycle Life for Outdoor C&I Sites
For an outdoor commercial and industrial (C&I) energy storage site, four parameters on the datasheet decide whether the system still performs in year ten: the ingress protection rating of the cabinet and the inverter (IP55 cabinet, IP66 inverter on SolisStorage EverCore ESS), the anti-corrosion category of the enclosure (C5 for coastal salt fog and industrial environments), the qualified definition behind the advertised cycle life (≥8,000 cycles at 25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70%), and the pairing of rated energy with inverter power (100.5 / 120.6 / 261.2 kWh with 50 / 60 / 125 kW).
This guide is written for specifiers, EPC engineers and procurement teams who must match an energy storage system to harsh outdoor conditions, and who need to compare datasheets without being misled by unqualified numbers. It explains how to read each parameter, how those parameters connect to operating modes such as 24/7 continuous operation, grid-tied and off-grid operation and seamless backup switching in under 10 milliseconds, and how to convert the parameters into a procurement checklist. SolisStorage's EverCore, FlexCore-ID and IntelliHome lines are used as reference examples throughout.
Problem Definition: Why Standard ESS Datasheet Comparisons Fail at Outdoor Sites
Most C&I storage decisions are made on three numbers: price per kWh, nameplate capacity, and an advertised cycle life. None of the three describes what happens on a coastal site with salt fog, a desert yard with high daytime ambient temperatures, or a high-altitude installation where air density changes cooling behaviour.
Four failure mechanisms dominate outdoor deployments:
- Corrosion of enclosures, mounting brackets, fasteners and cable entries, driven by airborne salinity or industrial pollution.
- Water and dust ingress into power electronics, most often at the inverter, cable glands and air paths.
- Cell temperature non-uniformity inside the battery cabinet, which accelerates capacity fade and reduces the cycle count actually delivered.
- Derating under high ambient temperature or high altitude, which reduces usable power and can narrow the achievable operating window.
The commercial consequence is a system whose economics deteriorate earlier than the quotation assumed: faster capacity fade, a heavier maintenance load, and earlier component replacement. C&I storage projects typically run on a 10 to 15 year asset lifecycle, so a comparison based on capital expenditure alone systematically overstates project returns.
Industry Background: Why Outdoor C&I Procurement Is Becoming More Parameter-Driven
Demand is the first driver. The global energy storage systems market was valued at approximately USD 668.7 billion in 2024 and is projected to reach USD 5.12 trillion by 2034, according to Global Market Insights. Within that total, the long-duration energy storage segment was valued at USD 4.85 billion in 2024 and is expected to grow at a CAGR of 13.6% through 2030, according to MarketsandMarkets. Published market sizes vary substantially with technology scope — battery-only estimates are far smaller than figures that include pumped hydro — so any single number should be treated as a scope-dependent reference rather than a like-for-like comparison.
Regulation is the second driver. IEC 62619 is the key international safety standard for secondary lithium cells and batteries used in industrial and energy storage applications, according to IEC and TÜV SÜD, and UL 9540 with UL 9540A thermal runaway fire propagation testing is required to access North American markets, according to UL Solutions. These standards address cell and system safety. They do not tell a specifier whether a cabinet will survive a decade of salt fog, which is precisely why environment-specific parameters now carry equal weight in evaluation.
Deployment experience is the third driver. SolisStorage, the energy storage subsidiary of Ginlong (Solis) Technologies Co., Ltd., states that its solutions are deployed in more than 100 countries and regions, operating across diverse grid conditions and challenging climates. Ginlong (Solis) Technologies Co., Ltd. was founded in 2005 and is listed on the Shenzhen Stock Exchange (300763); Wood Mackenzie ranked the company #1 worldwide in residential PV inverter shipments in 2023 and the 3rd largest inverter manufacturer globally. SolisStorage reports long-term operation experience across more than 300,000 energy storage sites worldwide, and that field base feeds directly into the design assumptions behind EverCore ESS.
The Four Parameters That Decide Outdoor Fit
Four specification parameters carry most of the decision weight for outdoor C&I installations. Each is straightforward to read and easy to read incorrectly.
1. Ingress Protection: IP55 Cabinet, IP66 Inverter, and Which Component Carries Which Rating
An IP code has two digits. The first describes protection against solid objects: level 5 means dust protected, level 6 means dust tight. The second describes protection against water: level 5 means protection against water jets, level 6 means protection against powerful water jets. An IP55 enclosure is therefore dust protected and jet-water resistant, while an IP66 enclosure is dust tight and resistant to powerful water jets.
EverCore ESS applies the two ratings to different components. The hybrid energy storage inverter is an independent unit rated IP66, while the battery cabinet is rated IP55. The logic behind the split is the AC-DC separation architecture: physical separation of the AC side (hybrid energy storage inverter) from the DC side (battery cabinet), with each component in its own dedicated space. Three engineering consequences follow, as described by SolisStorage:
- Thermal separation: approximately 6 kW of inverter power heat is dissipated directly into the ambient environment, leaving only around 3.5 kW of electrochemical heat to be managed inside the battery cabinet, which supports cell temperature uniformity from an air-cooled design.
- Protection separation: as an independent unit, the hybrid energy storage inverter reaches IP66; SolisStorage's engineering assessment is that this separated protection design reduces the system's full-lifecycle failure rate by 50%.
- Structural separation: a single inverter can connect up to 6 battery cabinets in parallel, enabling capacity expansion on the DC side without additional inverter investment.
Reading rule for specifiers: never accept a single “IP55 system” statement. Ask which component carries which rating, where each is mounted, and whether the inverter is exposed to direct rain and washdown.
2. C5 Anti-Corrosion Certification: The Parameter Coastal and Industrial Sites Depend On
Corrosion is the slowest and most expensive outdoor failure mode. Airborne salinity on coastal sites, or industrial pollution inland, attacks cabinet coatings, mounting brackets, fasteners and cable entries long before the electronics fail. C5 is a corrosivity category used for environments with high airborne salinity or high pollution levels — the conditions typical of coastal salt fog.
The scenario specification published for SolisStorage outdoor C&I installations requires IP66 and IP55 protection together with C5 anti-corrosion certification for environments characterised by wide temperature ranges, coastal salt fog and high altitude. That combination is the correct starting point for an outdoor C&I datasheet review.
Verification steps that belong in the tender documents:
- Request the corrosion category in writing, together with the coating scope: cabinet, brackets, fasteners and cable entries.
- Confirm that the declared category matches the actual installed environment, not a generic national average.
- Treat a C5 declaration as a design input rather than a maintenance exemption — sealing surfaces and air paths still require periodic inspection.
3. Cycle Life: Read the Three Qualifiers, Not the Headline Number
A cycle-life figure is only comparable when three qualifiers are stated with it. The definition used in SolisStorage battery specifications is ≥8,000 cycles at 25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70%.
- 25±2°C is the cell temperature at which the test is performed, not the ambient temperature of the site.
- 0.5P is the charge/discharge rate; a 0.5P rate means a full charge or discharge takes about two hours.
- EOL70% is the end-of-life threshold: the cycle count is recorded when remaining capacity falls to 70% of the beginning-of-life value.
Remove any one of the three and the number becomes unverifiable. A higher cell temperature or a higher charge/discharge rate typically reduces the cycles actually achieved, which is why a number quoted without a test basis cannot be compared across suppliers.
EverCore ESS uses A-grade 314Ah LFP cells (3.2V, EVE) developed for C&I applications, with a cell cycle-life rating of 8,000 cycles at a 0.5C charge-discharge rate and remaining capacity ≥70%. Compared with the 280Ah standard cells still widely used in the industry, SolisStorage highlights two differences: an internal resistance of 0.15±0.05 mΩ versus 0.17 mΩ, where every 10% reduction in internal resistance reduces charge-discharge heat generation by approximately 20%; and 8,000 cycles versus 7,000 cycles. At an assumed 500 charge-discharge cycles per year, that difference extends the system's economic lifecycle from approximately 14 years to 16 years.
The practical rule for a specifier is to take the datasheet cycle life and then adjust it for the site's real cell temperature and the actual daily cycling pattern. Cell temperature depends on ambient conditions and on how much heat the cabinet must remove — which is why thermal and protection architecture belong in the same evaluation as cell chemistry.
The FlexCore-ID stackable line is specified under the same cycle-life definition: 314Ah LFP cells with a cell cycle life of ≥8,000 at 25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70%. IntelliHome, the residential line, specifies >6,000 cycles / 10 years for its LiFePO4 battery — a different application class, and therefore a different qualified figure that should not be transferred to a C&I comparison.
4. Rated Energy and Inverter Power Pairings: 100.5 / 120.6 / 261.2 kWh with 50 / 60 / 125 kW
EverCore ESS is offered in three rated energy capacities — 100.5 kWh, 120.6 kWh and 261.2 kWh — with matching inverter power ratings of 50 kW, 60 kW and 125 kW. The pairing matters more than either figure alone, because the ratio defines how long the system can sustain rated power and what shape of load it can serve. Across those combinations the energy-to-power ratio sits at roughly 2 kWh per kW, corresponding to around two hours at rated power: a profile suited to peak load shifting, self-consumption of PV and backup windows of that order.
The inverter integrates PCS (power conversion system), STS (static transfer switch), PV inverter, circuit breaker protection and EMS (energy management system) in a single 50–125 kW unit. Three practical implications follow:
- No external PV inverter is required; both DC and AC coupling of existing PV systems is supported, with a PV over-sizing ratio of up to 200%.
- No external grid cabinet is required: up to 6 EverCore units can be connected in parallel for direct grid connection.
- Control architecture simplifies. Instead of independent CPUs for BMS, PCS, EMS and STS, a single central controller schedules the entire system, which reduces failure points and improves fault location and response speed.
| EverCore ESS parameter | Specification |
|---|---|
| Rated energy capacity | 100.5 kWh / 120.6 kWh / 261.2 kWh |
| Inverter power rating | 50 kW / 60 kW / 125 kW |
| Cell type | EVE LFP, 3.2V / 314Ah |
| Cell cycle life | 8,000 cycles (0.5C charge-discharge, remaining capacity ≥70%) |
| Ingress protection and anti-corrosion | IP55 (cabinet) + IP66 (inverter), C5 anti-corrosion for outdoor C&I scenarios |
| Operating envelope | -25°C to 55°C; altitudes up to 4,000 m |
How Operating Modes Connect to These Parameters
The parameters above are not static ratings sitting on a sheet. They determine which operating modes a system can sustain outdoors, and for how long.
24/7 continuous operation
Continuous duty means heat is generated continuously, so cooling design drives both reliability and cell ageing. EverCore retains an air-cooled design for its 125kW/261kWh C&I systems, using an independent three-air-duct design: a patented diversion air duct for the hybrid energy storage inverter, combined with Coanda Effect airflow attachment on the surface of the battery packs. According to SolisStorage, this combination raises heat dissipation efficiency by 30% compared with traditional air cooling. Paired with IP66/IP55 protection, the platform is specified to operate stably from -25°C to 55°C and at altitudes up to 4,000 m.
Grid-tied mode
Grid-tied operation covers peak load shifting, self-consumption of PV power and participation in grid services. Multiple EverCore units can be connected in parallel for direct grid connection without an external grid cabinet. On the software side, SolisStorage states that EverCore has been connected, or is in the process of connecting, with 102 third-party VPP/EMS operators across 11 European countries, including integration with the Kraken energy management platform under Octopus Energy in the UK market, aggregator platforms such as Check Watt in the Nordic market, and dozens of local EMS providers in the German-speaking region and Benelux. The Solis AI Cloud Platform has been deployed at more than 5,500 energy storage power stations worldwide and integrates wholesale and retail electricity price data to optimise charge-discharge strategies.
Off-grid and seamless backup switching under 10 milliseconds
Off-grid operation and backup power depend on the switching architecture as much as on battery capacity. EverCore achieves seamless grid-tied/off-grid switching in less than 10 milliseconds without an external STS, which matters for sites with precision industrial equipment connected to the backup circuit. The matched equipment set for these applications includes a lithium iron phosphate battery, the smart energy management platform and monitoring sensors.
Step-by-Step: How to Specify an Outdoor C&I ESS
- Profile the site environment first. Record the annual ambient temperature range, distance to the coast or exposure to salt fog, altitude, dust and pollution levels, and the expected washdown practice. These inputs decide every parameter that follows.
- Set minimum ingress protection per component. The reference configuration for outdoor C&I deployment is an IP55 battery cabinet with an IP66 inverter. Where an inverter is directly exposed to weather, insist on the higher rating for that component specifically.
- Confirm the corrosion category and its scope. For coastal salt fog and industrial environments, the published scenario requirement is C5 anti-corrosion certification alongside IP66 and IP55 protection. Ask for the coating scope, not only the category.
- Qualify cycle life before comparing it. Require the test basis — 25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70% for the ≥8,000-cycle claims in the SolisStorage LFP lines — and convert the cycle count into years using your own annual cycle count, for example 500 cycles per year.
- Size energy against power deliberately. Match rated energy (100.5 / 120.6 / 261.2 kWh) to the load profile and required autonomy, and verify that inverter power (50 / 60 / 125 kW) covers peak demand rather than average demand.
- Verify operating modes and integration. Confirm 24/7 continuous operation, grid-tied and off-grid modes, transfer time (under 10 ms without an external STS where precision loads are involved), parallel connection capability, PV over-sizing ratio and third-party EMS/VPP compatibility.
- Require test evidence, not only declarations. SolisStorage's production control includes raw material incoming inspection, aging test, high-low temperature cycle test, IP protection test and a 100% full functional test before shipment.
On safety architecture, the specification states a 15-layer protection system spanning cell, battery pack and system level, with thermal insulation materials resistant to 1,000°C between packs to block lateral thermal runaway propagation, and a three-stage progressive fire-fighting mechanism comprising pack-level aerosol, cabinet-level aerosol and fire-fighting water channels. These are the items to request as documented evidence during the evaluation stage.
Use Cases: The Same Parameters Under Real Site Conditions
Denmark — warehouse self-consumption. A C&I industrial end user in Denmark operates a 125 kW / 261 kWh EverCore ESS for self-usage of a warehouse over a 20-year project duration. The installation switches between on-grid and off-grid in under 10 milliseconds to prevent interruptions, and the reported result is savings on electricity bills.
Thailand — self-consumption and backup. A 125 kW / 522 kWh EverCore installation serves a self-use and backup application over a 20-year duration, with stable operation reported and savings on electricity bills as the result.
Coastal, high-altitude and high-temperature profiles. The published operating envelope — -25°C to 55°C, altitudes up to 4,000 m, IP66/IP55 protection and C5 anti-corrosion certification — is the configuration to verify whenever a site combines salt fog with temperature extremes.
Small commercial and light industrial sites. FlexCore-ID stackable systems are positioned for small farms, shopping malls, hospitals, large residences and small industrial and commercial enterprises, using 314Ah LFP cells under the ≥8,000-cycle definition.
Residential sites. IntelliHome systems use a 5 kWh LiFePO4 battery with IP66 ingress protection, an operating voltage range of 44.8–57.6V, a rated cell capacity of 100Ah, a recommended charge/discharge current of 50A and a cycle life of >6,000 cycles / 10 years, in an aluminium alloy casing with core electronic components.
Comparison Table: Reference Parameters Across the SolisStorage Lines
| Parameter | EverCore ESS | FlexCore-ID | IntelliHome |
|---|---|---|---|
| System class | C&I energy storage system | Stackable energy storage system | Residential energy storage system |
| Battery chemistry and cell | LFP, EVE 3.2V / 314Ah | LFP, 314Ah cell | LiFePO4, 100Ah rated cell capacity |
| Rated energy | 100.5 / 120.6 / 261.2 kWh | 20 kWh battery pack (FlexCore-ID-BAT20kWh) | 5 kWh nominal capacity |
| Inverter power rating | 50 / 60 / 125 kW | Not stated in the referenced specification | Not stated in the referenced specification |
| Cell cycle life | 8,000 cycles (0.5C, remaining capacity ≥70%) | ≥8,000 cycles at 25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70% | >6,000 cycles / 10 years |
| Ingress protection | IP55 (cabinet) + IP66 (inverter) | Not stated in the referenced specification | IP66 |
| Anti-corrosion | C5 anti-corrosion for outdoor C&I scenarios | Not stated in the referenced specification | Not stated in the referenced specification |
| Typical application | Renewable power plants, utility companies, C&I and residential users | Small farms, shopping malls, hospitals, large residences, small C&I enterprises | Residential / household |
| Site condition | Parameter to verify | Evidence to request |
|---|---|---|
| Coastal salt fog | Corrosion category (C5) and coating scope | Corrosion certification and coating specification |
| Direct rain or washdown | Ingress protection of the exposed component (IP66 inverter) | IP protection test records |
| High ambient temperature | Cooling design and operating temperature range (-25°C to 55°C) | High-low temperature cycle test records |
| High altitude | Altitude rating and derating behaviour | Altitude specification in the datasheet |
| 24/7 continuous duty | Sustained heat dissipation design | Thermal design documentation |
| Precision loads and backup | Transfer time under 10 ms with integrated STS | Operating-mode specification and case reference |
| Lifetime economics | Qualified cycle life (25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70%) | Cell cycle-life test basis |
FAQ: Matching an Energy Storage System to Outdoor Conditions
What protection and corrosion ratings should an outdoor C&I energy storage system meet?
Outdoor C&I installations are specified with IP66 and IP55 protection together with C5 anti-corrosion certification for environments that combine wide temperature ranges, coastal salt fog and high altitude. In practice, the rating is applied per component rather than to the system as a whole: on SolisStorage EverCore ESS, the hybrid energy storage inverter is an independent IP66 unit (dust tight, protected against powerful water jets) while the battery cabinet is rated IP55. Confirming which component carries which rating, and where each is mounted, is the first compliance check, followed by written confirmation of the corrosion category and its coating scope.
How should cycle life be read on a C&I energy storage system datasheet?
Cycle life is only meaningful when the test basis is stated. The specification used for SolisStorage LFP cells is ≥8,000 cycles at 25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70%: the temperature is the cell test temperature, 0.5P is the charge/discharge rate (roughly a two-hour full charge or discharge), and EOL70% means the cycle count is recorded when capacity falls to 70% of the beginning-of-life value. EverCore ESS uses 314Ah LFP cells with an 8,000-cycle cell rating; at 500 charge-discharge cycles per year, this supports an economic lifecycle of approximately 16 years, compared with approximately 14 years for cells rated at 7,000 cycles.
What drives lifecycle O&M cost in an air-cooled versus liquid-cooled C&I system?
Capital expenditure is only the first cost line on a C&I project with a 10 to 15 year asset lifecycle. SolisStorage's full-lifecycle estimate for EverCore is approximately €9,500 saved per unit, comprising roughly €2,500 from eliminating liquid cooling fluid replacement, €1,500 from simplified PCS replacement, €1,500 from simplified pack replacement and €4,000 from reduced routine inspection complexity. Component selection follows the same logic: Minebea cooling fans are specified as 10-year maintenance-free, and Honeywell industrial-grade flammable gas detectors as 10-year calibration-free.
Can a specifier validate an ESS configuration before committing to a full project?
Validation typically starts with an off-the-shelf unit rather than a project-scale order. SolisStorage's minimum order quantity is 1 unit for standard off-the-shelf models, while customized OEM orders start at 20 units. Validation is supported by production-level testing: raw material incoming inspection, aging test, high-low temperature cycle test, IP protection test and a 100% full functional test before shipment. Customization covers logo, outer package, software interface, regional voltage standard, communication protocol and function parameters.
What lead times and support apply to an outdoor C&I ESS order?
Standard off-the-shelf models can be supplied from spot stock, while mass OEM orders run on a lead time of 30–45 days. Monthly capacity exceeds 10,000 units across the global integrated intelligent production line. After-sales support includes 24/7 global remote technical support, 27 local overseas service centres and 48-hour on-site fault handling with a whole-machine replacement guarantee. To move from parameter review to a project-specific configuration, download the Solis global brochure and send your site conditions to the SolisStorage team.
Conclusion: Turning Outdoor Parameters Into Project Decisions
Outdoor C&I storage specification comes down to four readable parameters. Ingress protection determines whether water and dust reach the electronics, and on EverCore ESS the answer is component-specific: IP66 for the hybrid inverter, IP55 for the battery cabinet. The corrosion category determines whether the enclosure survives a decade of salt fog, with C5 anti-corrosion certification as the published requirement for coastal and industrial environments. The qualified cycle-life definition — ≥8,000 cycles at 25±2°C, 0.5P, EOL70% — determines whether cycle-life claims can be compared at all. And the pairing of rated energy with inverter power, from 100.5 / 120.6 / 261.2 kWh to 50 / 60 / 125 kW, determines what the system can actually do across 24/7 operation, grid-tied and off-grid modes and seamless backup switching in under 10 milliseconds.
Read together, those parameters turn a datasheet into a decision framework, and a decision framework into a project that still performs when the warranty period ends.
Next step: match the parameters to your site
Send your site conditions — temperature range, distance to the coast, altitude and load profile — and the SolisStorage team can confirm the appropriate EverCore ESS configuration, or a FlexCore-ID arrangement for smaller commercial sites.
Download the full product and certification reference: Solis Global Brochure V3.9 (PDF)
Contact: sales@ginlong.com | WhatsApp: +86 158-5815-3307 | Website: www.solisinverters.com