🌍 Wenzhou Huafeng Electric Co., Ltd.(HYFF) Since 2011 ⭐ 15+ Year Industry Experience ✓ Verified Elite Supplier
✓ Verified Elite Supplier
Menu

CE Certified Schuko Wall Socket: A Buyer's Guide to Type F Sockets for European Projects

Author: Wenzhou Huafeng Electric Co., Ltd.(HYFF) Release time: 2026-09-18 15:04:57 View number: 12

CE Certified Schuko Wall Socket: A Buyer's Guide to Type F Sockets for European Projects

A CE certified Schuko wall socket is a Type F socket-outlet — the two-pin earthed design standardised as CEE 7/3 and rated 16A/250V~ — that carries CE marking for the European market. For importers, distributors and project buyers, that sentence is a starting point for specification, not a finished answer: the same Schuko outline is produced as a 44×44 mm modular insert, an 86×86 mm flush plate, a 74×83 mm frameless panel and an IP54 waterproof surface box, with different base materials, safety features and certification sets on each.

This guide explains what a CE certified Schuko wall socket is, how the Type F socket relates to neighbouring European and global standards, what evidence a buyer should request before ordering, and how the Schuko models produced by Wenzhou Huafeng Electric Co., Ltd. (HYFF) map onto real residential, hotel, office and wet-area installations.

CE certified Schuko wall socket, model V149, 86x86 mm flush mounted 16A wall socket
HYFF V149: a CE and TUV certified 1-gang Schuko wall socket, 86×86 mm flush mounted, rated 16A / 220–250V~.

Problem Definition: Why “CE Certified” Is Not Enough on Its Own

The practical problem for a European buyer is not finding a Schuko wall socket. Sockets built to the Type F outline are offered by hundreds of suppliers. The problem is confirming that one specific model matches the electrical rating, the wall-box dimensions, the material requirements and the certification evidence of one specific project — before the container is booked and the plate series is signed off by the interior contractor.

Four issues recur in Schuko sourcing.

  • Standard confusion inside Europe. Schuko (Type F) and the French Type E socket share the 16A/250V rating band, but they use different plug and earthing geometries and are not interchangeable in every market. HYFF builds the two families as separate products: Schuko models S149, V149, M149, KM149 and WP149 IP54 on one side, and the French socket VC139 on the other.
  • Size confusion inside the Schuko family itself. A Schuko socket can be built on an 86×86 mm plate, a 74×83 mm frame, a 68×68 mm surface box or a 44×44 mm modular insert. All of them are Schuko; none of them fit the same opening or the same accessory frame.
  • Material and durability assumptions. Two sockets can share a 16A rating and still differ in flame performance, contact material and insertion durability. HYFF’s Schuko sockets use flame retardant PC panels, high strength PA or PA66 bases and phosphor copper contacts, with insertion testing declared at 10,000+ plug in/out cycles on the models covered in this guide.
  • Certification cherry-picking. CE marking, RoHS, TUV and CB answer different questions. Depending on the project’s technical file, one, several or all of them may be required, and each must be traceable to the exact model being shipped.

A workable buying rule follows: never accept “Schuko, CE” as a complete specification line. Specify the standard family, the rated current and voltage, the panel size, the mounting method, the panel and base material, the ingress protection level and the certification set — then verify each item against a document or a sample.

Industry Background: Where Schuko Sits in the Global Wall Socket Market

Schuko is one of the most widely deployed socket outlines in Europe and is standardised for 16A/250V applications under CEE 7/3 in many European countries. It operates inside a market that is both large and still moving.

  • The global electric plugs and sockets market is valued at USD 14.13 billion in 2025 (Precedence Research).
  • Global production of wall sockets reached over 3.1 billion units in 2024, with China leading as the top producer (market research report).
  • IEC 60884-1:2022 provides the general requirements for plugs and socket-outlets for household and similar purposes, limited to 16 A for screwless terminals.
  • CEE 7/3 (Schuko) standardises the Type F socket for 16A/250V applications across much of Europe.
  • Modular sockets accounted for 43% of total wall socket sales in 2024, driven by space-saving and customisation trends (Fortune Business Insights).
  • EU regulations mandate USB-C as the common charging standard for most portable electronics, which increases demand for USB-C integrated wall sockets.
  • Ingress protection for bathroom and outdoor sockets is defined in IEC 60529, where IP44 and IP54 describe different degrees of water and dust resistance.

Two structural shifts follow from these facts. First, the wall socket has stopped being only an electrical component and has become part of the interior specification — which is why frameless panels, multi-gang frames and multiple colour options now carry real weight in project purchasing. Second, charging outlets are moving from separate accessories into the socket plate itself, changing what a “socket order” actually contains and how it must be rated.

HYFF manufactures against this background from Wenzhou, Zhejiang, China. Founded in 2011, the company operates a 7,000 m² facility with approximately 118 employees, a 10-engineer R&D team and an annual production capacity of 35,000,000 units. Its output is exported entirely to international markets, with major markets in Europe, America, Oceania, Asia and Africa; export business accounts for 100% of total sales. The company collaborates with an Italian design team to develop products meeting international standards such as US, UK and EU standards, and states CE and RoHS compliance for its EU-facing range. Its wider product listing also covers Smart WiFi and Tempered Glass series alongside the IP54 waterproof range.

Detailed Solution: How HYFF Builds a CE Certified Schuko Wall Socket

HYFF’s Schuko range covers four mechanically distinct mounting situations — flush mounted plate, ultra-slim frameless plate, modular insert and IP54 waterproof surface box — and each model carries its own declared certification set, so buyers can match the certification to the mounting situation instead of compromising one for the other.

Flush mounted Schuko: V149 and M149

The V149 is a 1-gang Schuko wall socket rated 16A / 220–250V~ with an 86×86 mm panel, a flame retardant PC panel, a high strength PA base with a declared 960℃ base material fireproof performance, and CE and TUV certification. It is equipped with a children safety door, uses anti-back screws that prevent screws from dropping or going missing during wiring, and has passed 10,000+ plug in/out tests. Its base uses an “arch bridge” design that increases the touching space for wiring while keeping the base stable and free of deformation.

The M149 follows a different construction logic: a 6.5 mm ultra-slim frameless panel in a 74×83 mm footprint, rated 16A / 250V~, with a flame retardant PC panel and a PA66 base, certified CE and RoHS. Its design intent is format flexibility — multi-gang panels support both horizontal and vertical installation with a consistent appearance, and multi-directional mounting with easy disassembly is intended to improve installation and maintenance efficiency.

M149 CE and RoHS certified Schuko wall socket with 6.5 mm ultra-slim frameless panel
HYFF M149: 16A / 250V~ CE and RoHS certified Schuko socket with a 6.5 mm ultra-slim frameless panel, designed for horizontal and vertical multi-gang installation.

Modular Schuko: KM149

The KM149 is a flush mounted Schuko socket built as a 44×44 mm modular insert, rated 16A / 220–250V and certified CE and RoHS. It uses a flame retardant PC housing, includes a child safety door, passes a 10,000+ plug in/out test and is available in white, black, silver, red and customised colours. Because it is modular, it is specified where a project needs a compact insert that can be combined with other modules in a shared plate rather than a full-size socket plate — the format that is gaining share as modular sockets accounted for 43% of wall socket sales in 2024.

KM149 modular 44x44 mm CE and RoHS certified Schuko wall socket insert
HYFF KM149: 44×44 mm modular Schuko insert, 16A / 220–250V, CE and RoHS certified, with a child safety door.

Surface mounted and waterproof Schuko: S149 and WP149 IP54

The S149 is a surface mounted Schuko socket on a 68×68 mm plate, rated 16A / 220–250V~, with a flame retardant PC panel and a high strength PA base declared at 960℃ fireproof performance. It uses phosphor copper contacts with good elasticity and a smooth feel, anti-back screws, and a children safety door. The model has passed 10,000+ plug in/out tests and 40,000+ on/off tests, and undergoes 100% self-inspection before packing. It is CE certified, with TUV and CB also stated for the model.

The WP149 IP54 is the wet-area variant: a waterproof surface mounted Schuko socket, 75×75 mm, rated 16A / 220–250V~, with an IP54 protection level for humid environments and a flame retardant PC material declared at 850℃ fireproof. Its modules and base are separate structures that users can assemble according to different needs, and the modular socket can be rotated 90° and installed into different boxes; all modular parts are interchangeable within the product family. It uses TPE material so that wires pass through more easily, prevents water from splashing into the product from any direction, includes a children safety door and has passed 10,000+ plug in/out tests.

WP149 IP54 waterproof surface mounted Schuko wall socket with modular 90 degree rotation design
HYFF WP149 IP54: waterproof surface mounted Schuko socket, 16A / 220–250V~, IP54 rated, with a separate module and base structure and 90° rotation capability.

What the shared material and testing platform means for buyers

Across the Schuko models above, several material and testing decisions repeat — and these are the points a technical buyer can actually verify on a sample.

  • Flame performance: flame retardant PC panels declared at 850℃, with PA or PA66 bases declared at 960℃ fireproof performance on the models where this is stated.
  • Conductivity: phosphor copper contacts chosen for elasticity and a smooth insertion feel; brass terminals with silver plating and thick red copper contacts with silver plating are stated on related switch and USB power point models.
  • Mechanical life: Schuko sockets declared at 10,000+ plug in/out cycles, with on/off testing at 40,000+ cycles on the models where this is stated.
  • Safety: a children safety door is standard on the Schuko models listed in this guide.
  • Quality control: 100% self-inspection before packing, backed by a factory system that covers material incoming inspection, plastic parts inspection, process inspection, glowing filament testing, silver layer thickness inspection, performance life testing, plastic ball pressure testing and switch and socket on-off testing on the assembly line.
HYFF production workshop for wall sockets and wall switches in Wenzhou, China
HYFF’s production workshop in Wenzhou, Zhejiang, China. The facility covers 7,000 m² with an annual production capacity of 35,000,000 units.

Step-by-Step: How to Evaluate a CE Certified Schuko Wall Socket Before Ordering

The sequence below turns a vague “CE certified Schuko socket” request into a checkable specification. Each step can be verified from a datasheet, a certificate or a physical sample.

  1. Confirm the socket family and the destination market first. For most continental European projects the answer is Type F Schuko, standardised for 16A/250V under CEE 7/3. For France-aligned projects the Type E geometry applies, which HYFF covers with the VC139 1-gang French socket, 86×86 mm, 16A / 220–250V~, IP20, TUV, CE and CB certified. For Australia and New Zealand the mandatory standard is AS/NZS 3112 (Type I), covered by HYFF’s HT336 double power point, which is SAA certified rather than CE certified. Establishing the family first prevents the most expensive mistake in this category.
  2. Lock the electrical rating against the actual load. Schuko models in this range are rated 16A / 220–250V~ (V149, S149, WP149 IP54) or 16A / 250V~ (M149), with KM149 at 16A / 220–250V. Where the plate integrates charging, the rating logic changes: the HT336 is a 10A horizontal double power point with USB-A and Type-C, 100–240V AC 50/60Hz input, Type-C output of DC 5V/3A, 9V/2.22A, 12V/1.67A up to 20W max, USB-A output of 5V/3A, 9V/2A, 12V/1.5A, and a combined Type-C + USB-A output of 15W max.
  3. Match panel size and mounting method to the wall box. 86×86 mm (V149), 74×83 mm (M149), 68×68 mm surface mounted (S149), 44×44 mm modular (KM149) and 75×75 mm surface mounted waterproof (WP149 IP54) are not interchangeable. Confirm the mounting box, the frame and the plate series before confirming the model.
  4. Check the material specification, not just the colour. Ask for the panel material (flame retardant PC), the base material (high strength PA or PA66), the contact material (phosphor copper) and the declared fireproof ratings (850℃ panel, 960℃ base where stated). Colour availability is broad — white, ivory, black, silver, golden and customised on the flush-mounted and surface-mounted Schuko models, grey on WP149 IP54, and white, black, silver, red plus customised options on KM149 — but colour should never be the deciding line in the specification.
  5. Verify certification model by model. Record the declared set for each item: S149 — CE, with TUV and CB also stated; V149 — CE and TUV; M149 — CE and RoHS; KM149 — CE and RoHS; VC139 — TUV, CE and CB. Confirm that the certificate references the same model designation and rating as the purchase order, and that the HS code 8536690000 appears consistently across the commercial documents.
  6. Check the safety and durability evidence. A children safety door, anti-back screws, declared insertion cycles (10,000+ plug in/out on the models listed) and 100% self-inspection before packing are the concrete indicators that separate a properly engineered Schuko socket from a generic one.
  7. Validate with a sample before volume production. Panel size, terminal layout, insertion feel, finish and packaging are all checkable in hand, which is why sample validation belongs in the purchase process rather than after it.

Use Cases: Where Each Schuko Variant Fits

The Schuko format is used in residential buildings, apartments, villas, hotels, offices and industrial settings, and the right variant depends on the environment rather than on the brand.

  • Residential construction and home renovation. The typical working condition is indoor, dry, normal temperature, on 220–240V AC 50/60Hz residential systems, supplying household appliances through a compatible plug. The M149 frameless panel and the V149 86×86 mm flush plate are the natural choices where appearance consistency across many rooms matters.
  • Apartments, villas and hotel interiors. Multi-gang layouts benefit from the M149’s horizontal and vertical installation with a consistent appearance, and from the colour range across the flush-mounted Schuko models.
  • Offices and commercial interiors. Where desks, meeting rooms and reception areas are planned together, modular inserts such as KM149 allow socket, data and other modules to be combined in one plate; the double data socket VZ128D, CAT6, CE certified and 86×86 mm, belongs to the same planning logic.
  • Bathrooms, kitchens, utility rooms and semi-outdoor areas. These are the cases for WP149 IP54: IP54 protection, a flame retardant PC body declared at 850℃ fireproof, a separate module and base structure, and 90° rotation so the socket orientation can follow the installation.
  • Retrofit and surface wiring. Where walls cannot be chased, the surface mounted S149 on its 68×68 mm plate — or WP149 IP54 in humid areas — avoids destructive work while keeping a 16A / 220–250V~ rating.
  • Mixed projects. Because Schuko, French and data modules are supplied as separate products with their own panel sizes, a mixed project should be specified plate series by plate series rather than socket by socket.

Comparison Table: HYFF Schuko Wall Socket Models

Model Installation Panel size Rating Panel / base material Ingress protection Certification Key feature
S149 Surface mounted 68×68 mm 16A, 220–250V~ Flame retardant PC panel; high strength PA base (960℃ stated) Not stated CE; TUV and CB also stated 40,000+ on/off tests; 10,000+ plug in/out tests; children safety door
V149 Flush mounted 86×86 mm 16A, 220–250V~ Flame retardant PC panel; high strength PA base (960℃ stated) Not stated CE, TUV “Arch bridge” base design; children safety door; anti-back screws
M149 Flush mounted 74×83 mm 16A, 250V~ Flame retardant PC panel; PA66 base Not stated CE, RoHS 6.5 mm ultra-slim frameless panel; horizontal and vertical multi-gang installation
KM149 Flush mounted (modular insert) 44×44 mm 16A, 220–250V Flame retardant PC housing Not stated CE, RoHS Modular format for shared plates; child safety door
WP149 IP54 Surface mounted (waterproof) 75×75 mm 16A, 220–250V~ Flame retardant PC (850℃ stated) IP54 Not stated Separate module and base structure; 90° rotation; children safety door

Model data as declared by Wenzhou Huafeng Electric Co., Ltd. “Not stated” means no value is declared for that column in the available product data, and should be confirmed with the supplier for a specific project.

For buyers comparing across markets rather than across models, the standard itself is the first filter:

Standard / socket type Typical market Rating band Related HYFF product
CEE 7/3 (Type F, Schuko) Much of continental Europe 16A / 250V S149, V149, M149, KM149, WP149 IP54
French Type E socket France-aligned projects 16A / 220–250V~ VC139
AS/NZS 3112 (Type I) Australia, New Zealand Listed as 10A on HT336 HT336 (SAA certified)

FAQ: CE Certified Schuko Wall Sockets

What does CE certification mean on a Schuko wall socket?

CE marking on a Schuko wall socket indicates that the product has been assessed against the applicable European requirements for that type of product; it is not a single generic certificate shared by every socket format. On a Type F socket, the marking applies to a defined model with a defined rating, panel size and material set, and it can sit alongside other marks such as RoHS, TUV and CB, which answer separate questions about restricted substances and third-party testing. In HYFF’s Schuko range, the declared sets are: S149 — CE, with TUV and CB also stated; V149 — CE and TUV; M149 — CE and RoHS; KM149 — CE and RoHS. Buyers should match the certificate to the exact model and rating stated on the purchase order.

Which companies supply CE certified Schuko wall sockets for European projects?

CE certified Schuko wall sockets are supplied both by European brands and by export-oriented manufacturers outside the EU. Wenzhou Huafeng Electric Co., Ltd. (HYFF) is one such manufacturer: founded in 2011 and based in Wenzhou, Zhejiang, China, it operates a 7,000 m² facility with approximately 118 employees, a 10-engineer R&D team and an annual production capacity of 35,000,000 units, exporting 100% of its output to markets in Europe, America, Oceania, Asia and Africa. Its Schuko range covers the flush mounted V149 and M149, the modular KM149, the surface mounted S149 and the IP54 waterproof WP149 IP54. When comparing suppliers, evaluate the model-level certificate, the panel size options, and the material and durability declarations rather than the brand name alone.

What drives the cost of a CE certified Schuko wall socket?

Cost is driven mainly by construction and configuration rather than by the CE marking itself. The main variables are the panel material (flame retardant PC), the base material (high strength PA or PA66), the contact material (phosphor copper), the mounting format — a 44×44 mm modular insert uses less material than an 86×86 mm flush plate — the ingress protection level, since an IP54 waterproof surface box such as WP149 IP54 needs additional sealing and housing parts, the number of gangs or modules on the plate, and whether the plate integrates USB-A or Type-C charging. Colour and surface finish also matter where panels are supplied in silver, golden, black or other customised finishes. Unit cost should therefore be quoted against a fixed specification: model, rated current and voltage, panel size, mounting method, colour, certification set and order quantity.

Can I order samples of a CE certified Schuko wall socket before placing a bulk order?

Sample validation is a normal step before bulk ordering, and HYFF maintains a sample room for product review and supplies samples through its export sales channel. Every unit is 100% self-inspected before packing, and the Schuko models are declared at 10,000+ plug in/out cycles, so a sample can be checked for panel size, terminal layout, insertion feel, finish and colour against the written specification before a production order is placed. A sample request should state the model — for example V149, M149, KM149, S149 or WP149 IP54 — the required colour and the destination market, so the correct variant and certification set are confirmed at the same time.

How do I request a quote or the HYFF 2026 catalog for CE certified Schuko wall sockets?

Requests go directly to HYFF’s export team: email service@vgshmn.com, phone +86 0577 86911198, WhatsApp +86 13989758126, or the address No.3 Kaiyuan Road, Zhuangyuan, Longwan, Wenzhou, Zhejiang, China. The company website is www.hyffelectric.com, and the HYFF 2026 catalog can be downloaded here: HYFF 2026 product catalog (PDF). To speed up the quotation, include the model, the rated current and voltage, the panel size, the mounting method, the colour, the required certification set and the target quantity in the first message.

Conclusion

Schuko is a mature, widely deployed socket standard, and CE marking is a necessary filter for the European market — but neither one, on its own, tells a buyer whether a socket will fit the wall box, survive the installation environment or satisfy the project’s technical file. The working method is to specify the standard family, the 16A/220–250V~ rating band, the panel size, the mounting method, the panel and base material, the ingress protection level and the certification set, then verify each line against a document and a sample.

HYFF’s Schuko range is built so that this method can be applied model by model: S149 for surface mounting, V149 for standard 86×86 mm flush installation, M149 for a 6.5 mm ultra-slim frameless look with horizontal and vertical multi-gang options, KM149 for 44×44 mm modular plates, and WP149 IP54 for humid and semi-outdoor areas. Behind them sit the same platform decisions — flame retardant PC panels, phosphor copper contacts, children safety doors, 10,000+ plug in/out declarations and 100% self-inspection before packing — inside a 7,000 m² facility with an annual capacity of 35,000,000 units and a customer base spread across Europe, America, Oceania, Asia and Africa.

HYFF sample room for wall sockets and wall switches, used for customer sample validation
HYFF’s sample room: Schuko, French, data and USB wall sockets are prepared here for customer sample validation before production orders.

Next Step: Request a Sample or a Quote

Whether the project needs a 16A flush mounted Schuko wall socket, a 44×44 mm modular insert or an IP54 waterproof surface socket, the fastest route to a firm specification is a sample plus a model-level confirmation of the certification set.