Menu

4V Cordless Tools: Tool Sets, Screwdriver Sets and Staple Guns Compared

Author: HTNXT-Alexander Moore-Tools & Hardware Release time: 2026-09-19 07:12:59 View number: 21

4V cordless tools are a low-voltage product class, not a single product. The global cordless power tools market was estimated at USD 12.2 billion in 2024 (Global Market Insights), and low-voltage cordless tools below 12V, the band that contains both 4V and 3.7V platforms, are identified as primary segments for DIY and light-duty household tasks (Market.us). Within that band a buyer normally chooses between four different product units: a compact tool set, a powered screwdriver set, a bits set and a staple gun. Each unit performs a different mechanical job, carries a different specification sheet, and is covered by a different set of documents.

This independent comparison evaluates those four units on task fit, kit contents, accessory usefulness and practical user experience, using published product specifications, certificate data and third-party market figures rather than manufacturer claims. The reference range is the HOTAK PRO TOOLS 4V and 3.7V cordless and hand tool range, produced by Ningbo (Yinzhou) Yongjia Electrical Tools Co., Ltd. (YONGJIA TOOLS), a Ningbo-based tool manufacturer founded in 2000 whose products are exported to more than 100 countries and regions. Where a claim cannot be traced to a document, this article says so rather than filling the gap.

Full-automatic assembly line producing 4V cordless and hand tools
Full-automatic assembly line at the Ningbo production base that supplies the 4V cordless and hand tool range discussed in this comparison.

Why Tool Sets, Screwdriver Sets, Bits Sets and Staple Guns Are Not Interchangeable

A cordless staple gun and a cordless screwdriver from the same range can share the same 3.7V lithium cell and a similar housing style, yet they convert electrical energy in completely different ways. The cordless staple guns YJSG-501 (five-use) and YJSG-500 (two-use) are specified at 3.7V, 2000 mAh and 25W rated power, driving a fastener with a single stroke. The cordless screwdrivers YJPS-902 and YJPS-912 are specified with electric torque of 2 / 3.5 / 5 N across three speeds (YJPS-902) and 2.5 N (YJPS-912), delivering continuous rotary torque through a bit. The precision models YJPS-906 and YJPS-907 are specified at 0.15 N·m electric torque, roughly an order of magnitude lower, because their job is turning small electronics fasteners rather than furniture screws.

Two practical consequences follow for buyers. First, kit contents must be compared by function and count, not by piece count alone: an 18-piece, a 26-piece and a 41-piece set can contain entirely different mixes of bits, sockets, drills and handles. Second, accessories must be compared by interface standard. The bits sets YJTS-3109 (18 pcs) and YJTS-3110 (26 pcs) are specified with 1/4-inch standard bits in S2 steel with a black phosphate finish, a magnetic bit holder and a PP case, which makes them useful as replacement stock, provided the receiving tool uses the same shank.

The Four Product Units at a Glance

Product unitPrimary taskPublished specification exampleKit content logicMain boundary
Tool set (compact cordless tool set)Repeated driving, light assembly and disassembly around the homeYJTS-3526: 41 pcs household electrical screwdriver tool set, 3.7V lithium, 320 mAh, 220 rpm, 0.15 N·m power torque, 3 N·m hand torque, charging time about 1 hourOne powered handle plus a mixed inventory of pieces; value comes from coverage in a single boxDriver-class power torque only; not intended for structural fastening
Screwdriver set (powered)Furniture assembly, cabinet hardware, appliance panels, repetitive screwingYJPS-912: 3.7V, 800 mAh, at least 50 min no-load, 2.5 N electric torque, 10 N·m manual torque, 0-250 rpm. YJPS-902: 3.7V, 2000 mAh, at least 60 min, three-speed 2 / 3.5 / 5 N, 10 N·m manual torque, 0-280 rpmDriver plus bits and sockets, or driver only; value comes from torque and runtimeFinal tightening depends on the 10 N·m manual rating, not on the motor
Bits setConsumable interface, expansion and replacement stockYJTS-3109 (18 pcs) and YJTS-3110 (26 pcs): 1/4-inch standard bits, S2 steel, black phosphate, magnetic bit holder, PP case; 5 drill bits 2-6 mm (YJTS-3109) or 3 drill bits 3-5 mm (YJTS-3110)Pure accessory; no battery and no runtime of its ownRequires a matching bit holder; adds no driving power
Staple gun (cordless)Upholstery, cable fixing, thin-material and light fasteningYJSG-501 (five-use) and YJSG-500 (two-use): 3.7V, 2000 mAh, 25WTool plus battery; faster than manual tacking on repetitive runsFastener family, leg length and certification scope are model-specific

Reading the Specifications That Decide the Purchase

4V and 3.7V describe the same platform

Every cordless tool in this range is rated 3.7V on its specification sheet: the YJSG-501 and YJSG-500 staple guns (3.7V, 2000 mAh), the YJPS-902 and YJPS-912 screwdrivers (3.7V), the precision tools YJPS-906 and YJPS-907 (3.7V) and the cordless hot-glue pen YJGG-001 (3.7V). 4V is the commercial class label for that same low-voltage platform, and industry segmentation groups 4V and 3.7V together in the below-12V band used for DIY and light-duty household work (Market.us). For purchase orders and certificate matching, the rated voltage printed on the model specification is the controlling figure.

Battery capacity separates the models more clearly than voltage

Capacity does more to distinguish the models than the voltage label. The precision tools, the glue pen and the 41-piece tool set carry 320 mAh cells (YJPS-906, YJPS-907, YJGG-001, YJTS-3526); the mid-range screwdriver set YJPS-912 carries 800 mAh; the cordless staple guns and the top screwdriver model carry 2000 mAh (YJSG-501, YJSG-500, YJPS-902). The published no-load operating times follow the same order: at least 30 minutes (YJPS-906), at least 50 minutes (YJPS-912) and at least 60 minutes (YJPS-902). These are no-load figures under stated conditions; loaded runtime is shorter, so they should be read as an index for comparing models rather than as a duty-cycle guarantee. The hot-glue pen publishes a different metric: at least 120 minutes of operating time at a 150°C operating temperature, a 60-second glue flow with release in 30 seconds, and a full charge of 120 min ±10 min.

Electric torque and manual torque answer different questions

Two torque figures appear on the cordless screwdriver sheets, and they are not interchangeable. Electric torque is what the motor delivers: 0.15 N·m on YJPS-906 and YJPS-907, 2.5 N on YJPS-912, and 2 / 3.5 / 5 N on the three-speed YJPS-902. Manual torque is the load the handle is rated to accept when turned by hand after the motor stops: 10 N·m on YJPS-902 and YJPS-912, and 3 N·m on the precision models. A buyer who reads only the electric figure will underestimate the finished tightness a user can reach; a buyer who reads only the manual figure will overestimate the motor. The accurate reading is that motorised driving handles the repetitive portion of the work and manual torque handles final seating.

Charging data is electrical, not connector-specific

Charging in this range is documented in electrical terms rather than connector terms. Charge output voltage is 5V, with charge current of 1-1.5A on YJPS-902 and YJGG-001 and 500 mA on YJPS-912 and YJPS-906; YJPS-907 states a charging time of about 1 hour, and the glue pen a full charge of 120 min ±10 min. The published specifications do not name a connector type, and the third-party market data reviewed for this article does not include a tracked adoption rate for USB-C charging specifically in 4V cordless tools. Buyers who require a defined connector should therefore confirm it model by model instead of inferring it from the 5V figure.

ModelTypeRated voltageBattery capacityNo-load operating timeElectric torqueManual torqueOutput speedCharge current
YJPS-902Power screwdriver3.7V2000 mAhat least 60 min2 / 3.5 / 5 N (three-speed)10 N·m0-280 rpm1-1.5 A
YJPS-912Power screwdriver set3.7V800 mAhat least 50 min2.5 N10 N·m0-250 rpm500 mA
YJPS-906Electric precision repair tool set3.7V320 mAhat least 30 min0.15 N·m3 N·m0-220 rpm500 mA
YJPS-90726 pcs cordless precision power screwdriver set3.7V320 mAhnot stated (charging time 1 hour)0.15 N·m3 N·m220 rpmnot stated
YJTS-352641 pcs household electrical screwdriver tool set3.7V320 mAhnot stated (charging time 1 hour)0.15 N·m3 N·m220 rpmnot stated

Task Fit: Where Each Unit Earns Its Place

For household assembly, the deciding specification is not voltage but the combination of electric torque and manual torque. The YJPS-902 power screwdriver carries a 2000 mAh battery, a 0-280 rpm output and three selectable electric torque levels of 2, 3.5 and 5 N, with a 10 N·m manual rating for final seating; the YJPS-912 power screwdriver set offers 2.5 N electric torque, 0-250 rpm and the same 10 N·m manual rating on an 800 mAh cell. Where the requirement is breadth rather than torque, the 41-piece YJTS-3526 tool set places a powered handle and a mixed piece inventory in one case, at 0.15 N·m power torque and 3 N·m hand torque. Buyers should note the boundary: fastening into hard material or driving long screws is outside the design intent of the 4V platform.

For electronics and small-device work, the relevant models are the precision tools YJPS-906 and YJPS-907, specified at 0.15 N·m electric torque, 3 N·m manual torque and 220 rpm, with the YJPS-907 supplied as a 26-piece cordless precision set and a stated charging time of one hour. Manual companion kits extend coverage in the same applications: the YJTS-3140 43-piece mobile phone repair tool set and the YJTS-3018 77-piece smartphone repair kit both include pry bars, a suction cup, a SIM card tray opener and bit inventories that reach pentalobe and tri-point profiles. Distributors supplying repair shops commonly list a powered precision driver and a manual precision kit side by side rather than choosing between them.

For upholstery, cable fixing and light fastening, the cordless staple guns YJSG-501 (five-use) and YJSG-500 (two-use) are specified at 3.7V, 2000 mAh and 25W. Fastener selection is clearer in the manual staple gun range, which documents what buyers must ask for on powered models: the YJSG-196 six-in-one staple gun is compatible with JT21, T50, T25, T20 and 18GA staples; the YJSG-115 heavy-duty staple and nail gun accepts Arrow T50 and 140 staples in 9/16, 1/2, 3/8, 5/16 and 1/4 inch sizes; the YJSG-120 four-in-one covers heavy duty staples 6-14 mm, light duty staples 6-10 mm, cable staples 10-14 mm and 18 gauge brad nails at 15 mm; and the YJSG-023 three-way set covers flat wire staples 4-14 mm, cable staples 10-14 mm and brad nails 10-14 mm. The published specifications of the cordless YJSG-501 and YJSG-500 state voltage, capacity and power but do not list a staple series, so the fastener specification should be requested for the exact cordless model before ordering.

For craft and light bonding work, the cordless hot-glue pen YJGG-001 is specified at 3.7V, 320 mAh, 4.2W and a 150°C operating temperature, with at least 120 minutes of operating time and a 60-second glue flow. It is a separate unit from the driving and fastening tools and should be compared on thermal behaviour and run time rather than on torque.

On the supply side, the manufacturer reports long-running programmes with brand owners, hardware wholesalers and retail chains in Germany, France, the United States, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and Malaysia, in order volumes of 5,000 to 50,000 units and over relationships lasting 3 to 5 years, for applications including auto repair, household fastening and workshop maintenance. The reported outcomes are reliable performance, a low return rate and consistent quality, with DIN standard compliance and GS / CE certification cited as the basis. These are supplier-reported results rather than independently audited measurements, and they are presented here as such.

Market Trends Shaping the 4V Category

Three published figures frame the category. The global cordless power tools market was estimated at USD 12.2 billion in 2024 (Global Market Insights); the global staple gun market was valued at USD 1.54 billion in 2024 with a forecast CAGR of 3.13% through 2032 (Maximize Market Research); and the household electric screwdriver market is valued at approximately USD 1.8 billion in 2024, with North America holding a 35% share (DataHorizzon Research). Adjacent to this space, the cordless multi-rotary tools market is projected to reach USD 1,024.95 million by 2026 (Global Market Insights).

Platform behaviour is the more informative trend for buyers. Ryobi is reported to operate a 4V interchangeable USB battery system, described in review coverage as a consumer-facing approach to a shared low-voltage battery (secondary review source). Dremel, part of the Bosch Group, maintains a 4V home and lifestyle tool category that includes cordless screwdrivers and rotary tools positioned for DIY users (ToolGuyd). Both signals point the same way: larger brands treat 4V as a platform with shared batteries rather than as a single disposable tool, which raises the importance of battery interchangeability and charging interface when a buyer sets a purchase specification.

Trade classification matters as well. HS code 846729 covers tools for working in the hand with self-contained electric motors, others, which is the classification used for most cordless screwdrivers and specialty 4V tools (Descartes Datamyne). Importers should keep the declared code, the certificate scope and the model list on the commercial invoice aligned.

Two data limitations should temper category claims. Published screwdriver market values differ by definition: one source places electric screwdrivers at USD 421 million (2023) while another values household electric screwdrivers at USD 1.8 billion (2024), because the first focuses on industrial and precision assembly tools and the second includes retail DIY products. In addition, no public dataset reviewed for this article separates 4V or 3.7V unit shipments from the wider below-12V band, and none tracks charging-connector adoption at that voltage. Buyers should treat category-level market statements as context and rely on supplier-level documentation for decisions.

Powered 4V Tools Versus Traditional Manual Tools, and Where the Limits Sit

Manual counterparts remain in the range and remain useful. The YJPS-6851 25-piece extension screwdriver set uses 1/4-inch by 1-inch bits with sockets and an extension bar, and the YJPS-6852 17-piece precision screwdriver set uses 5/32-inch bits with a soft extension bar. Neither has a battery, a charge time or a runtime limit, and in both powered and manual use the final tightening step is manual anyway, because the powered models are specified with a 10 N·m manual rating (YJPS-902, YJPS-912) or 3 N·m (YJPS-906, YJPS-907). The honest comparison is therefore complementarity: the powered unit removes repetition, the manual unit removes dependency on charge state.

Durability data on staple guns is expressed in shots rather than years. Published figures in this range indicate a service life of more than 7,000 shots for a plastic staple gun, more than 15,000 shots for an iron body and more than 30,000 shots for an aluminium-alloy body. That makes body material the primary durability variable to specify, since calendar age says little about a tool that is used in bursts.

The limits of the 4V class should be stated plainly, and each of the following is documented rather than asserted:

  • Torque ceiling. Electric torque across the cordless screwdriver models spans 0.15 N·m (YJPS-906, YJPS-907) to 2.5 N (YJPS-912) and 2 / 3.5 / 5 N (YJPS-902). This is driver-class output, not impact-driver output, so 4V tools complement rather than replace higher-voltage platforms for heavy fastening.
  • Runtime figures are no-load. The stated at least 30, 50 and 60 minute figures apply under no-load conditions, so a purchaser planning production or trade use should not convert them into shift-length capacity.
  • Charge behaviour differs between models. With the same 5V charge output, charge current is 500 mA on YJPS-912 and YJPS-906 but 1-1.5A on YJPS-902 and YJGG-001, and the glue pen requires 120 min ±10 min for a full charge.
  • Certification is scoped to a model, not to a category. The CE Certificate of Conformity to Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC numbered AM 50559365 0001 covers the five-use cordless power staple gun, model YJSG-501, under EN ISO 12100:2010 and EN ISO 11148-13:2018, issued 2022-09-10 by TUV Rheinland LGA Products GmbH and valid to 2030-12-31. The hand-operated staple guns YJSG-105 and YJSG-023 are covered by a different certificate, AM 50694538 0001, valid to 2030-12-31. The GS certificate S 50694620 0001, issued 2026-03-18 and valid to 2031-03-17, applies to hexagon screw keys with ball end under DIN ISO 2936-10.16 and AfPS GS 2019:01 PAK, not to cordless tools.
  • Commercial constraints. Stated terms for the range are a minimum order of 600 units and a production lead time of 30-45 days, FOB Shanghai or Ningbo, with 30% T/T in advance and 70% T/T against a copy of the B/L. These limits matter for trial orders and fixed retail windows.
CE Certificate of Conformity for the 5-in-1 cordless power staple gun, model YJSG-501
The CE certificate on file for the five-use cordless power staple gun YJSG-501 lists the directive, the standards and the expiry date, and applies to that model rather than to the whole cordless staple gun family.

A Buyer Verification Checklist for 4V Cordless Tools

Item to verifyWhat to requestEvidence available in this range
Model-level safety certificateCertificate number, directive, standard and expiry that match the exact model on the purchase orderCE certificate AM 50559365 0001 for YJSG-501 (Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC; EN ISO 12100:2010, EN ISO 11148-13:2018; issued 2022-09-10, valid to 2030-12-31); CE certificate AM 50694538 0001 for YJSG-105 and YJSG-023
Factory-level approvalsManagement system certificate, retailer audits and social compliance evidenceISO9001; TUV/GS product safety; Walmart (USA) factory audit; Kingfisher (UK) factory audit; BSCI; VPA
In-house inspection stagesIncoming, in-process and final inspection recordsIncoming inspection, in-process inspection and final inspection are stated as the quality control structure
Pre-shipment verificationThird-party inspection option and acceptance criteriaPre-shipment test with third-party inspection (SGS) available as the acceptance method
Fastener and bit interfacesStaple series and leg length for staple guns; bit shank standard for driving toolsManual range examples: JT21, T50, T25, T20 and 18GA (YJSG-196); Arrow T50 and 140 (YJSG-115); 1/4-inch bit standard with S2 steel and black phosphate finish (YJTS-3109, YJTS-3110)
Electrical specificationRated voltage, battery capacity, electric and manual torque, speed and charge currentSee the screwdriver model table above; staple guns are specified at 3.7V, 2000 mAh and 25W
Commercial termsMinimum order, lead time, Incoterm, payment terms and monthly capacityMOQ 600 units; 30-45 days lead time; FOB Shanghai or Ningbo; 30% T/T in advance with 70% against B/L copy; monthly capacity 1,500,000 units
Customisation scopeOEM / ODM availability and permitted customisationOEM / ODM production services with customisation in colour and logo
Quality control room used for incoming, in-process and final inspection of hand and cordless tools
Quality control room supporting the three-stage inspection structure (incoming, in-process and final) that a buyer should ask to see documented.

Future Outlook

The 4V class is likely to remain the entry platform for household, craft and light repair work, because the below-12V band is where DIY and light-duty demand concentrates (Market.us), and because the staple gun segment is forecast to grow at a 3.13% CAGR through 2032 from a 2024 base of USD 1.54 billion (Maximize Market Research). Growth in adjacent cordless multi-rotary tools, projected to reach USD 1,024.95 million by 2026 (Global Market Insights), suggests that the same battery form factor will spread across more small tool types rather than fewer.

The competitive variable most likely to shift is charging and battery interoperability. Ryobi is reported to operate a 4V interchangeable USB battery system and Dremel maintains a 4V home and lifestyle category (secondary and third-party sources as noted above), while the public data reviewed for this article still contains no measured adoption rate for USB-C charging in 4V tools. Until that data exists, buyers who need interoperability should write the requirement into the specification rather than assume it from a product family name.

For procurement teams, the practical consequence is to treat 4V as a defined sub-category with its own rules: model-level certificate mapping, declared fastener and bit interfaces, no-load runtime stated as no-load, and a commercial floor of a 600-unit minimum order and a 30-45 day lead time in this range. Applied consistently, those four checks resolve most of the questions that a category-level comparison leaves open.

FAQ

What is the practical difference between a 4V cordless tool set and a cordless screwdriver set?

A compact tool set bundles a powered handle with a mixed inventory of pieces. The YJTS-3526 is specified as a 41-piece household electrical screwdriver tool set rated 3.7V, 320 mAh, 220 rpm, 0.15 N·m power torque, 3 N·m hand torque and about one hour of charging time. A cordless screwdriver set is specified around the driver itself: the YJPS-912 is rated 3.7V, 800 mAh, 0-250 rpm, 2.5 N electric torque and 10 N·m manual torque, while the YJPS-902 is rated 3.7V, 2000 mAh, 0-280 rpm with three electric torque levels of 2, 3.5 and 5 N and the same 10 N·m manual rating. The set buys breadth of pieces; the screwdriver set buys higher electric torque, larger battery capacity and, on YJPS-902, selectable torque and speed.

Do the bits sets in this range fit the 4V cordless screwdrivers?

The published bits sets YJTS-3109 (18 pcs) and YJTS-3110 (26 pcs) are specified with 1/4-inch standard bits in S2 steel with a black phosphate finish, a magnetic bit holder and a PP case; YJTS-3109 adds five drill bits from 2 mm to 6 mm and YJTS-3110 adds three drill bits at 3, 4 and 5 mm. The same 1/4-inch format appears in the manual screwdriver sets, for example the 25-piece extension screwdriver set YJPS-6851, which uses 1/4-inch by 1-inch bits. However, the published specifications of the cordless screwdriver models YJPS-902, YJPS-912, YJPS-906 and YJPS-907 do not state a bit-holder format, so the shank interface should be confirmed against the specific powered model before ordering bits as a matched accessory.

Are 4V and 3.7V the same thing?

The cordless products in this range are rated 3.7V on their specification sheets, including the YJSG-501 and YJSG-500 staple guns, the YJPS-902 and YJPS-912 screwdrivers, the YJPS-906 and YJPS-907 precision tools and the YJGG-001 hot-glue pen. 4V is the commercial class label used for that low-voltage platform, and industry segmentation places 4V and 3.7V together in the below-12V band used for DIY and light-duty household tasks (Market.us). For purchase orders, certificates and customs documentation, the rated voltage printed on the model specification is the figure that should be quoted.

Which certification should a buyer verify before ordering a cordless staple gun?

The certificate on file for the five-use cordless power staple gun YJSG-501 is a CE Certificate of Conformity to Machinery Directive 2006/42/EC, certificate number AM 50559365 0001, issued 2022-09-10 by TUV Rheinland LGA Products GmbH and valid to 2030-12-31, referencing EN ISO 12100:2010 and EN ISO 11148-13:2018. The hand-operated staple guns YJSG-105 and YJSG-023 are covered by a separate CE certificate, AM 50694538 0001, valid to 2030-12-31. Because certificates are issued against a defined scope and model, the certificate number and scope line should be matched to the exact model listed on the purchase order; a certificate covering one staple gun model does not automatically cover another.

How long do staple guns last, and does the body material matter?

Published service-life data in this range is expressed in shots: more than 7,000 shots for a plastic staple gun, more than 15,000 shots for an iron body and more than 30,000 shots for an aluminium-alloy body. Because the figures describe cycles rather than time, duty cycle is a better planning basis than calendar age. On cordless models, service life also depends on the battery: the YJSG-501 and YJSG-500 are specified with 3.7V, 2000 mAh batteries at 25W rated power, and battery condition becomes a consumable factor in the tool's working life.

What are the minimum order and lead-time conditions for private-label 4V cordless tools?

The stated manufacturing terms for this range are a minimum order quantity of 600 units, a production lead time of 30-45 days, a monthly capacity of 1,500,000 units, and OEM / ODM production services with customisation in colour and logo. Delivery terms are FOB Shanghai or Ningbo, acceptance can include a pre-shipment test with third-party inspection (SGS), and payment terms are 30% T/T in advance with 70% T/T against a copy of the B/L. Quality control is described as a three-stage structure covering incoming inspection, in-process inspection and final inspection.

Reference documents: the 2025 YONGJIA product catalogue (PDF) covering the hand and cordless tool range is available at 2025 YONGJIA CATALOG, and company product information is published at www.yj-tools.com.