Menu

LCD and USB Charging on ACOPLEX TRAVEL, ROCKET and UNICORN E-Bikes

Author: HTNXT-Peter Lawson-Outdoor Sports & Facilities Release time: 2026-10-01 03:16:45 View number: 23

For buyers equipping outdoor sports facilities — trail centres, rental fleets, guided tour operators and resort loaner programmes — the handlebar display has quietly become more than a speed and battery readout. It is often the point where a rider keeps a phone, a navigation unit or a two-way radio alive, and where a facility decides how much rider electronics support it is willing to standardise across a fleet.

In the ACOPLEX model set reviewed here, all three electric bikes — TRAVEL, ROCKET and UNICORN — are documented with an LCD display, but the documentation is not identical. The ROCKET selling point states that its LCD has a built-in USB port. The supplied TRAVEL and UNICORN specifications list an LCD display without any USB statement.

That is a documentation gap, not proof of a hardware difference. It is also exactly the kind of gap that decides whether a delivered fleet matches the specification a facility believed it was buying.

What the three models document — and where the record stops

The table below reproduces the specification set available for this comparison. Nothing has been added to it, and nothing has been inferred from it.

Model (product ID)TypeMotorBatteryDisplayTyresBrakesGearsFront forkFrame
TRAVEL (9853)Electric city bike48V250W Oxygen comfort48V/7AH Samsung li-ionLCD display — no USB port stated20x2.0 CSTFront and rear hydraulic discSHIMANO 8 speedZOOM brand, suspension, Al alloy6061 aluminum alloy
ROCKET (9856)Electric mountain bike48V250W Oxygen comfort48V/7AH Samsung li-ionLCD display — selling point states built-in USB port29x4.0 CSTFront and rear hydraulic discSHIMANO 11 speedSuntour brand, suspension, Al alloy6061 aluminum alloy
UNICORN (9857)Electric city bike48V250W Oxygen comfort48V/7AH Samsung li-ionLCD display — no USB port stated27.5x2.6 CSTFront and rear hydraulic discSHIMANO 9 speedSuntour brand, suspension, Al alloy6061 aluminum alloy

Read as a set, the specification makes three things clear.

  • The three models share a common documented platform. TRAVEL, ROCKET and UNICORN are all recorded with the same 48V250W Oxygen comfort motor, the same 48V/7AH Samsung li-ion battery, the same 6061 aluminum alloy frame and the same top-level display entry: "LCD display".
  • Only one model carries a USB statement. The ROCKET selling point states that the LCD has a built-in USB port. No equivalent statement is attached to TRAVEL or UNICORN.
  • A missing line is not a missing feature. For TRAVEL and UNICORN the USB question is simply unanswered in the provided documentation. A buyer cannot treat a silent line as a confirmed feature — and equally cannot treat it as proof that the port does not exist.
Why the distinction matters commercially: a facility that buys on the assumption that "all three have USB" may receive bikes that do not, while a facility that assumes none of them do may budget for add-on hardware it never needed. Both errors are avoided by a single written confirmation per model.

Why device charging belongs in a facility specification

Outdoor sports facility riders do not ride the way a commuter rides. They navigate by phone on unfamiliar trail networks, they carry radios on guided rides, they check in at trailheads and they photograph and share routes. Screen-on navigation is one of the heaviest drains a phone battery can face, and cold weather accelerates the loss further.

A facility that lends or rents electric bikes inherits that problem. A rider who arrives with a partially charged phone and no way to top it up mid-ride is a rider who may lose navigation, miss a check-in, or call the depot. For the operator, that is not a comfort issue; it is an operational and duty-of-care issue that shows up as support calls, recoveries and complaints.

The traditional fleet answer has been accessory-based: bar-mounted phone holders plus a stock of power banks that must be charged, tracked, cleaned and reissued. That works, but it adds an inventory line, a handling step and a cleaning protocol for every ride. A charging point integrated into the bike removes one moving part from the operation — but only if it is genuinely present on the units delivered.

ACOPLEX in context: the entity behind TRAVEL, ROCKET and UNICORN

ACOPLEX is the electric bike brand of Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd, a trading enterprise based in Wuxi, Jiangsu Province, China — a recognised core industrial hub for electric bicycle manufacturing in China. Founded in 2016, the company supplies electric bicycles, kids scooters, children's balance bikes and related components, with a stated export ratio of 100% and primary markets in the EU and the USA, alongside Southeast Asia, the Middle East and Africa.

For European fleet purchases, the relevant compliance position is that the company's electric bicycles are stated to comply with European safety standards and to hold CE and EN15194 certification — EN15194 being the mandatory standard for electrically power-assisted cycles sold in the EU market. Supplier-side capacity is documented at an annual output of 200,000 pieces and a monthly capacity of 10,000 electric bike units, with a standard MOQ of 50 pieces and a production lead time of 45–60 days. Quality control is described as 100% component inspection plus whole e-bike test riding before shipment.

The company also offers OEM/ODM customisation, with the documented menu covering frame and fender colour, wheel size and battery capacity, described as "and other choices". Order handling, logistics coordination and after-sales support are provided as a one-stop service. Existing supply relationships are documented at 5–6 years' duration with a project scale of 100,000 pieces per year, serving retailers, distributors and brand owners, with exports recorded to more than 30 countries including Germany, France, the Netherlands, Spain, Italy, the United Kingdom, the United States and Canada.

ACOPLEX electric bikes supplied by Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd for EU and US markets

ACOPLEX electric bikes are supplied by Wuxi Purino International Trade Co., Ltd, a Wuxi-based exporter with a stated 100% export ratio and primary markets in the EU and the USA.

How an LCD display with a built-in USB port actually works

On an electric bike, the LCD display is the control head of the electrical system. It typically shows speed, assist level, battery state of charge and trip data, and on most platforms it also acts as the system's on/off switch. A USB port integrated into that unit is therefore not a separate accessory: it is fed from the bike's main battery through the display's own electronics.

That architecture has three practical consequences for a facility buyer. First, charging and riding draw on the same energy store — the documented 48V/7AH Samsung li-ion battery that all three models share. Second, whether the port stays live when the bike itself is switched off is a design decision, not a universal rule. Third, because the port belongs to the display, a port fault and a display fault are the same service event.

What the provided specification set does not state is equally important. It does not state the port's output level, whether it is switched or permanently live, whether the connector is covered and sealed against water and dust, or which cable and plug type is fitted. Those are not obscure details; they determine whether the feature is usable on a wet trail and whether a rider can charge while the bike is parked. For TRAVEL and UNICORN, the documentation does not state a port at all.

Application: which outdoor sports facility scenarios change

The practical difference between the three models is easiest to see by scenario, using only the documented specification.

Trail and destination centres with rental fleets

Riders here navigate unfamiliar networks on their phones. Where a bike is documented with a display-integrated USB port, the fleet can offer device power without issuing a power bank. In the provided documentation that applies to ROCKET; for TRAVEL and UNICORN the same requirement would need written confirmation before it could be promised to guests.

Guided tours and group operations

Guides carry phones and radios for the length of a tour. A charging point on the bike reduces the risk of a guide losing contact mid-route. Again, the documented position is that only ROCKET's selling point states a built-in USB port.

Resort, campsite and hotel loaner programmes

Guests rarely arrive with bar mounts or power banks. Here the compact 20-inch TRAVEL and the 27.5-inch UNICORN suit riders who want a city-style, easy-mounting bike, while the 29x4.0-tyre ROCKET is documented as an electric mountain bike aimed at rougher ground. If on-bike charging is part of the guest promise, the model choice and the confirmation process are linked decisions.

Municipal and park loan schemes

Standardisation matters more than peak features in these fleets, because every accessory is a consumable. A port that is part of the bike removes an accessory category entirely — provided it is present on every unit delivered, not only on the specification sheet of one model.

Market context: rider power is becoming a specification item

Three data points frame why this small hardware detail now appears in fleet tenders. Global electric bike market revenue reached USD 38.7 billion in 2024, according to Strategic Market Research. In Germany, ZIV (the German Bicycle Industry Association) reports 2.05 million e-bikes sold in 2024, equal to 53% of total bicycle sales, with e-mountain bikes accounting for 40% of all e-bikes sold there. And EN15194 compliance is mandatory for e-bike sales in the EU market.

Two structural signals sit alongside those figures. Aluminum frames account for approximately 73% of global e-bike production, which is consistent with the 6061 aluminum alloy frame documented across TRAVEL, ROCKET and UNICORN. Meanwhile, EU imports of electric bicycles fell by 27% in 2023 to 867,000 units, according to Eurostat — a consolidation that tends to push buyers toward fewer, better-specified suppliers rather than toward stripped-down specifications.

The interpretation for a facility buyer is straightforward. As fleets electrify at scale and as riders carry more powered devices, features that were once afterthoughts — hydraulic disc brakes, aluminum frames, display functionality — migrate into the written specification. Device charging is following the same path. The risk is not that the feature is unavailable; it is that it is assumed.

Display USB versus traditional add-on power solutions

The traditional approach to keeping rider devices alive on an e-bike has two forms: a bar-mounted phone holder paired with a portable power bank, or an aftermarket USB adapter wired into the bike's electrical system.

A display-integrated port changes that equation. It removes the need to buy, charge, store, clean and issue power banks; it removes a loose accessory from the handlebar; and it uses the bike's own battery rather than a second energy store that has to be maintained.

The limitations are just as real, and a buyer should weigh them explicitly. First, charging draws from the same 48V/7AH pack that propels the bike, so device charging and ride range compete for one energy store — the provided documentation does not quantify that trade-off, so it has to be tested in the facility's own ride profile. Second, the provided specification does not state output, sealing or switching behaviour for the port, so no performance expectation can be drawn from the sheet alone. Third, on TRAVEL and UNICORN the feature is unstated, which means an add-on solution remains the only documentable route until the supplier confirms otherwise in writing. Fourth, because the port is part of the display unit, a failure affects both the readout and the charging function, and replacement is a display-level service event rather than a cheap accessory swap.

Purchase terms and acceptance criteria to confirm in writing

The gap between a selling point and a delivered bike is closed by documents, not by assumptions. For a facility fleet order involving TRAVEL, ROCKET or UNICORN, the following items belong in the specification annex or the purchase order rather than in an email thread.

Confirmation itemWhy it mattersWhere to record it
Does the supplied LCD on this model include a USB port?Only ROCKET's selling point states a built-in port; TRAVEL and UNICORN list an LCD without a USB statementSpecification annex, per model
Display part number and manufacturer, frozen for the orderA display change between sample and mass production can silently remove the portApproved sample record and technical file
Port behaviour: live with system on, behaviour when the bike is off, cut-off thresholdDetermines whether riders can charge while parked and how deep the battery may dischargeFunctional specification
Connector type, cable included or not, sealing claim for port and connectorNot stated in the provided specification; directly affects wet-weather usabilityTechnical annex and sample checklist
Range impact when charging under the facility's typical ride profileCharging and propulsion share the documented 48V/7AH battery; the trade-off is not quantified in the sheetSample test report
Whether the feature is standard or an option, and whether it sits inside the documented OEM/ODM scopeThe documented customisation menu covers frame and fender colour, wheel size and battery capacity, with "other choices" noted but not itemisedQuotation and order confirmation
Batch acceptance: port present and functional on every unitFleet consistency matters more than a single featured demo bikeAcceptance criteria, linked to 100% component inspection and whole e-bike test riding
After-sales treatment for a failed portA port fault is a display-level fault and should be handled as suchWarranty and service terms
Effect of any electrical change on the certified EU configurationEN15194 compliance is mandatory for e-bike sales in the EU marketCompliance file

Two commercial parameters shape how these confirmations are sequenced. A standard MOQ of 50 pieces across the ACOPLEX range is low enough to justify ordering samples of more than one model for side-by-side validation, and a production lead time of 45–60 days means a confirmation missed at sample stage cannot be recovered inside the same order window.

Future outlook

Rider electronics are not going to become less important. Navigation, check-in, photography and communication all live on a device that spends the ride with its screen on. Facilities, meanwhile, are buying bikes in larger blocks and standardising their fleets, which pushes every functional detail toward written specification.

The likely direction is that on-bike device charging becomes a routine line in a fleet specification, in the same way hydraulic disc brakes and aluminum alloy frames already have. Until suppliers publish it consistently across every model, the safe buying rule stays simple: confirm the feature per model, freeze the display part number, and test it on a sample before the bulk order is released.

FAQ

Do the TRAVEL and UNICORN models have a USB port on the display?

The provided specifications for TRAVEL (9853) and UNICORN (9857) list an LCD display without any USB port statement. Only the ROCKET (9856) selling point states that the LCD has a built-in USB port. Because the documentation for TRAVEL and UNICORN is silent rather than negative, the question can only be settled by written confirmation from the supplier for each model.

Does charging a phone from an e-bike display reduce riding range?

Yes in principle, because the port draws from the same battery that powers the motor. All three ACOPLEX models are documented with a 48V/7AH Samsung li-ion battery, so device charging and propulsion share one energy store. The provided specification set does not quantify the effect, so the size of the trade-off should be established through sample testing under the facility's own ride profile rather than assumed.

What should a buyer write into the purchase order about display USB charging?

Three things: whether the port is included on the specific model ordered, the display part number and manufacturer so the unit cannot be substituted, and the functional requirements the port must meet — behaviour when the bike is switched off, connector type and sealing claim. Adding a batch acceptance criterion that the port is present and functional on every delivered unit converts the feature from a selling point into a contractual requirement.

How can a buyer validate the USB feature before mass production?

Order a sample and test it with the actual devices the facility's riders use. Useful checks include charging behaviour with the system powered on and off, whether charging is cut off below a given battery level, whether the connector is protected against water and dust, and how the bike's usable range changes when a device charges throughout a ride. The supplier's documented process of 100% component inspection and whole e-bike test riding supports this kind of pre-shipment verification.

Is a display USB port covered by the supplier's after-sales service?

The documented after-sales position covers one-stop services including after-sales support, logistics coordination and order handling, but the provided material does not define warranty terms specific to the display or its port. Buyers should state explicitly who handles a failed port, since a port fault is a display-level fault and replacement affects both the readout and the charging function.

Why does this matter more for outdoor sports facility fleets than for individual riders?

An individual rider can carry a power bank or accept a dead phone. A facility issuing bikes to guests cannot, because each accessory becomes an inventory line that must be charged, cleaned and tracked for every ride. For a fleet, an on-bike charging point that is confirmed in writing removes an operational task; an on-bike charging point that was merely assumed creates a promise the fleet cannot keep on every bike.